Suzanne Stalls, CNM, MA

Suzanne Stalls has worked extensively during the past twenty-five years throughout the world in the fields of reproductive health; program design, implementation and management; community development and technical assistance; and education and training. During this time she has maintained an active clinical practice of midwifery, working at birth centers and in the hospital. She currently serves as the Vice President inthe Department of Global Outreach at the American college of Nurse-Midwives. Previously, she has been the service director for a practice she founded which employs eleven CNMs, attending 1,200 births per year with a diverse patient population. Ms. Stalls has had an appointment at the University of New Mexico College of Nursing's Midwifery Program as Clinical Associate Faculty since 1996. She earned the American College of Nurse Midwives Excellence in Teaching Award in 2004; the American College of Nurse Midwives' Regional Award for Excellence in 2005; and the Human Rights Award by the United Nations Office of Church Women United in 2007.

Stalls' professional work includes providing technical assistance as a consultant to community-based organizations in economic development and community mobilization. She has developed curricula aimed to create sustainability and expertise within formal and non-formal programs for community and health workers in the U.S. and internationally. She has conducted needs assessments and designed monitoring and evaluation for programs targeting maternal and neonatal mortality. Her expertise in program design and organizational ability is diverse and can be exemplified by a number of different projects: development of perinatal programs in a remote area of the Navajo reservation of New Mexico; training health workers in Asia, Africa and South America in basic life-saving obstetric skills; and designing curriculum which integrates community development and land restoration with HIV and gender equity training. Her countries of experience include Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Equatorial Guinea, Ethiopia, Guatemala, Haiti, Honduras, India, Kenya, Nepal, and Zimbabwe.